A Beginner’s Guide To Completely Voiding The Warranty On Your Valuable Electronic Devices

For the new year, I decided to do yet another rebuild of my looping rig. After many years of ignoring the best looping pedal on the market due to stubbornness, I decided to add a BOSS RC-300 to my pedalboard, and in doing so, I had to do some major modifications to it involving a pair of sheet metal shears, velcro, and good old fashioned duct tape. Before I added this amazing pedal to my pedal board, I had to make it small enough to fit, so I lopped off the rocker pedal which I discovered wasn’t that hard to do:

boss-rc-300-before

The rocker pedal is the big one to the right. After taking the pedal apart I discovered that removing it would be pretty easy, wiring-wise. Hardware-wise, totally different story.

boss-rc-300-mod-1

After removing the bottom panel, I flattened out the curved edge and used metal shears to very slowly snip away the unwanted section of the unit. This was not easy.

boss-rc-300-mod-2

This was what it looked like after about an hour of very difficult cuts.

boss-rc-300-mod-3

After trimming off the excess and bending the bottom panel excess into a side panel, the unit was ready to have it’s side covered in duct tape, it’s bottom covered in Velcro, and to be attached to my pedalboard on the top tier where the GP-10 and one of the RC-30s currently resided.

pedalboard-2015

before

20170130_095930

boss-duct

after

To accommodate the RC-300, I had to discard one of the RC-30s and relocate my GP-10 over to a separate pedal board with my GR-55 guitar synth.

20170130_095946

So by adding the RC-300 to my board, I now have access to two really cool looping features: layering and external controls. Layering means I can loop three separate layers that are playing on grid that can be turned on or off at any time. So, for instance if I loop a drum beat on layer one, I can loop a guitar part on two, and a bass part on three. While all three are playing I now have the option of momentarily turing off one of the layers and turning it back on at any time. In the past I was able to do this with 3 separate loopers, but they were never in sync with each other, so doing it was really difficult. Now it’s snap.

The other feature available to me is external controls. The RC-300 allows me the option of adding 4 separate pedals to control loop functions via external pedals where it says CTL 1,2 CTL 3,4:

20170130_100647

Now, when I perform I can put pedals anywhere on stage that can control the start and stop functions of my loops. In my situation, the perfect spot for controller pedals is on the sides of my drum set’s  hi-hat pedal:

20170130_100623

Now, when I perform a song involving the drums, my left foot isn’t held hostage by looping pedal duties. I now can start and stop loops with the toe or heel of my foot. Anyone who’s seen me perform knows that this is a HUGE deal. with these two functions my reggae songs are way more authentic sounding, and I’m 1,000% more excited to be performing.

rig-4

rig-3

rig-5

Leave a Reply

